Four Days Since Election Results, - Why No BJP CMs Announced Yet - NEWS SENTRY


Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Friday 8 December 2023

Four Days Since Election Results, - Why No BJP CMs Announced Yet

Opposition MPs have questioned the Bharatiya Janata Party’s failure to announce a chief ministerial face for the three north Indian states – Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh – where it recently won assembly elections. Results were announced on December 3.

Both Telangana and Mizoram (where the result was announced a day later, on December 4) – where non-BJP parties won the elections – now know who their next chief ministers will be. Congress leader A. Revanth Reddy has been sworn in Telangana, and Zoram People’s Movement leader Lalduhoma will be sworn in on Friday.

Both Congress MP Jairam Ramesh and Shiv Sena (UBT) MP Priyanka Chaturvedi asked why the media was silent on the BJP’s delay. Ramesh also pointed out that sections of the media were quick to question the Congress on when the Telangana chief minister would be announced, but failed to ask the same from the BJP.

“Less than 24 hours after the election results were out on December 3rd, the Congress party was being criticised in the media by all and sundry for a so-called ‘delay’ in appointing a CM for Telangana. Well, our CM was announced day before and is taking over at 1pm today,”  “But 3 days have gone by and the BJP has been unable to even announce its CMs for Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan. Why is the BJP not being called out for what is actually a delay?”

Chaturvedi too highlighted the same point, saying, “No one in media asking BJP why the delay in naming the CMs of the three states they have won. It is the 4th day since results declared. Koi nahin. Ye bhi theek hai.”

Elaborating on her point, she told ANI outside parliament, “Because they [BJP] are busy in musical chairs. They have the majority, people have expressed their trust in him. Elected MLAs have to make a decision that who will be the leader. But that process has been done away in the BJP. Only two people make decisions on the CM – PM Narendra Modi and Amit Shah. Results were out on 3rd Dec and today is 7th Dec…This is unfortunate.”

No comments:

Post a Comment